A Tampa Law Firm Committed to Your Recovery
Call for a Free Consultation
Car Accidents

Tampa Car Accident Attorneys

Client-Focused & Results-Driven Representation

In the aftermath of a car accident, your mind is probably reeling. How will you pay for the medical care you need to treat your injuries? How will you support your family while you are out of work? As these questions weigh on you, remember that Harmon Parker, P.A. is here to fight for you.

We take the burden off our injured clients’ shoulders and handle the legal legwork on their behalf. Let our Tampa car accident attorneys take on your injury claim and fight for the compensation you deserve. Our firm has extensive experience holding others accountable for their negligence and helping our clients obtain justice.


Discuss your car accident claim with our team today – just call (813) 452-4144.


Dealing with Your Car Accident Case

No matter how safe you are on the road, you have no control over other drivers’ actions. If someone else failed to obey traffic laws or operated their vehicle negligently, Harmon Parker, P.A. can help you pursue a legal claim.

Many car accidents are caused by:

  • Texting while driving
  • Eating and drinking while driving
  • Inattention and negligence
  • Drivers distracted by a GPS navigation system
  • Adjusting the radio while driving
  • Faulty car parts/mechanical failure
  • Drunk driving

Regardless of the exact cause of your accident, you should not have to suffer physically, emotionally, and financially for someone else’s negligence or mistake.

Florida Is a No-Fault Car Insurance State

While most states follow a traditional tort system in regards to car accidents, Florida is one of about a dozen states that follows a no-fault car insurance system. This means that after a car accident, drivers and covered passengers in Florida turn to their own insurance companies for coverage for their financial losses up to the limits of their policy, regardless of who caused the collision. This is known as "personal injury protection," or "PIP" coverage.

To legally register and operate a vehicle in Florida, owners must carry:

  • $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) benefits
  • $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) benefits (which pays for damage you cause to someone else's vehicle or property in a collision)

As a trade off for eliminating fault from the equation, PIP claims have limits on the types of losses that are covered. No-fault/PIP claims provide compensation for losses related to medical bills, lost wages, prescription drug costs, and other monetary damages stemming from the accident, but damages for pain and suffering or other non-monetary losses are not covered. In order to step outside of this system and sue the at-fault driver or their insurance company for additional damages, a driver must suffer an injury that meets Florida's "serious injury" threshold.

In Florida, you may only pursue a liability claim against an at-fault driver if you have suffered at least one of the following qualifiers:

  • Significant or permanent disfigurement
  • Fractured or broken bones
  • Permanent limitation of use of a body organ or member
  • Significant limitation of use of a body function or system, or
  • Substantially full disability for 90 days or more.

It is important to note that the no-fault system does not apply to vehicle damage claims related to car accidents. In other words, you may pursue a property damage claim or lawsuit against the at-fault driver without limitations.

Florida Car Accident Statute of Limitations

Like most legal actions, civil lawsuits related to car accidents must be filed within a certain amount of time in order to be heard by the courts. This is known as a "statute of limitations." In Florida, the statute of limitations for car accident lawsuits will vary depending on if the crash resulted in injury or death.

  • Personal injury: Under Florida Statutes section 95.11(3)(a), personal injury claims related to car accidents must be filed within four years of the date of the collision.
  • Wrongful death: If someone died as a result of the collision, under Florida Statutes section 95.11(4)(d), the victim's family has two years from the date of death to pursue a wrongful death lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
  • Property damage: Property damage lawsuits must be filed within four years of the date of the collision to be heard by the court.

First Steps to Take After a Car Accident

Car accidents are often very unexpected situations and when they occur, you likely feel that your life has taken a turn and you need a place to turn. During this difficult time, it is most important to remember that the steps you take immediately following a car accident will impact the effectiveness of your case and the compensation you are able to recover. Here are some actions to take immediately following an accident:

  • Get medical help - Even if you feel fine after the accident, getting medical attention to tend to your injuries can help with your case in the future and prevent further injury.

  • Gather information - While at the scene of the accident, collect as much information as possible, including photos, insurance information of other parties, and contact information of the witnesses.

  • Notify your insurer - Have your attorney notify your insurance company about the incident. Because they will ask you questions that can incriminate you, this step should be handled by your lawyer.

  • Contact 911 - Calling the police department is an important step to ensure that all passengers and drivers are safe. It is also important so that an official police report can be filed.

  • Contact your attorney - Working with a car accident attorney from the get go is beneficial for the effectiveness of your case.

Let our Tampa Car Accident Lawyers Build a Strong Claim on Your Behalf

Immediately following a car accident, it is vital that you seek medical care, even if you do not notice any serious injuries right away. You should also thoroughly document all the details of the accident. Be sure to take plenty of photos, gather witness contact information, and collect information from all other drivers involved in the incident. The next step is to contact our Tampa car accident attorneys at Harmon Parker, P.A.

When handling a car accident injury claim, we work tirelessly to:

  • Prove the other driver did not perform the necessary duty of care while operating their vehicle
  • Investigate whether the other driver ignored traffic signals or violated traffic laws at the time of the accident
  • Prove that you would not have incurred injuries if not for the other driver’s actions
  • Deliver a thorough and accurate estimate of the expenses you incurred from the accident, including medical bills, lost wages, and property damage

From start to finish, we will not stop fighting until we have reached a satisfactory resolution that reflects your best interests and compensates you fairly.


Contact us online or call (813) 452-4144 to get started on your case today.


Florida Car Accident FAQ

How will my medical bills get paid?

This will depend on what kind of insurance coverage you have and who was at fault. In Florida, your no-fault PIP coverage will pay for up to 80% of your medical costs up to the limits of your policy (at minimum $10,000). Any remaining costs may be covered under your health insurance policy if it covers car accident injuries. If you do not have medical insurance and the accident was your fault, these extra costs may come out of your own pocket. If the fault is on another person and your injuries exceed the state's serious injury threshold, you may have a claim against them for unpaid medical bills.

How much is my car accident claim worth?

Every car accident is different in its own right, therefore every car accident case will be valued differently based on the specific circumstances. Generally speaking, however, cases that involve more severe injuries such as broken bones, traumatic brain injuries, or spinal cord injuries tend to yield higher payouts than those involving comparatively minor injuries such as soft tissue injuries. Other factors that may impact the value of your claim include the amount of available insurance coverage, the strength of the evidence proving the other party's fault, the amount of work your injuries force you to miss, and the strength of your legal representation.

What if I am partly at fault for my accident?

You may still be able to recover compensation for a car accident that was partially your fault, albeit at a reduced amount. Under Florida's "pure comparative negligence" rules, if a plaintiff is partially at fault for an accident in which they suffer harm, their eligible recoverable damages will be reduced by a percentage equal to their share of fault. For example, if you suffered $100,000 worth of damages in a collision but are found to be 25% at fault for the crash, you would only be able to receive $75,000 (or $100,000 less 25%). It is best to discuss your situation with a skilled attorney to get a more accurate representation of your eligible compensation.

Do I have to notify my insurance company after a crash?

Yes. While there is no Florida law that demands you report an accident to your insurance company, failing to do so can potentially violate the terms of your insurance policy and void your coverage for the collision. Be sure to notify your insurance company within a few days of a collision. Give them enough information to open up a claim, but do not consent to giving any recorded statements or sign any authorizations until you have had a chance to discuss your situation with an attorney.

What should I say to the insurance adjuster?

Within a few days of your collision, you will likely be contacted by an insurance adjuster either from your insurance company or another party's insurer. These first conversations can be difficult as you may be in pain and feel frustrated with the situation. It is generally preferable to let your attorney handle all insurance communications on your behalf. However, if you have not yet retained legal representation and must speak to an insurance adjuster, be sure to follow these principles.
  • Get the name of the person you are speaking with and their contact information.
  • Remain calm and polite. Losing your temper will only make things worse.
  • As mentioned before, do not consent to any recorded statements.
  • Provide only limited personal information, such as your name, address, and phone number.
  • Stick to the facts and avoid speculation. If you are unsure about something, say so.
  • Do not give a detailed description of your injuries, in case you leave something out or discover that your injuries are more severe than you thought. Instead, give only a general description and that you will be seeking further medical treatment.

Should I accept the insurance company's first settlement offer?

Depending on the circumstances, the insurance company may offer you a settlement early on in the claims process. You are in no way obligated to accept this offer. Remember that an insurance adjuster's primary goal is to protect the interests of the insurance company, not the claimant. Their objective is to get you to settle a claim quickly and for as little as possible. In many cases, an initial settlement offer is very low and does not account for all future costs you may incur due to your injuries. If you have been offered a settlement, it is best to consult with an attorney before making any binding decisions to determine the most appropriate course of action.

I was injured as a passenger. Can I still seek compensation?

Yes. Injured passengers in Florida have all the same rights to compensation as drivers. Depending on the circumstances, you may be able to pursue compensation from the insurance companies of both driver of the car you were riding in as well as the other drivers involved in the collision. Since seeking compensation from multiple insurance companies can quickly become complicated, it is best to discuss your situation with an attorney to determine the best way to proceed.

When should the police be notified?

Ideally, you should call the police when an accident occurs, even if nobody appears to be injured. This will help to ensure a police report of the incident is created, which can be a key piece of evidence when determining liability for a collision. Always call law enforcement immediately if anyone is injured in a crash.

I received a ticket after an accident. Does this mean I am at fault?

Not necessarily. Typically, the at-fault driver will be the one to receive a ticket. With that being said, many cases involve shared fault with both drivers and may require a more thorough investigation to determine each driver's level of blame. It is possible that the responding officer missed certain evidence that proves the other driver's liability.

When are punitive damages awarded?

Punitive damages may sometimes be awarded in instances where the at-fault driver knowingly or intentionally injured or endangered the accident victims. While compensatory damages are meant to compensate victims for injuries or damages they have suffered, punitive damages are awarded for the purpose of punishing the at-fault driver for their actions. Punitive damages are rare and are typically reserved for particularly egregious cases such as repeated drunk driving violations or extreme recklessness behind the wheel.

Do I really need an attorney for a car accident?

Car accidents that result in only cosmetic vehicle damage and minor bruises can generally be handled without legal help. However, if your collision has resulted in serious injury to you, your passengers, or substantial damage to your vehicle, it is in your best interests to discuss your situation with an attorney. An attorney can guard your interests, negotiate with the involved insurance companies, and help you pursue a settlement that fully compensates you for your losses.

How much does it cost to hire a car accident attorney?

The last hing you need after a serious car accident is to face expensive legal fees during your pursuit of compensation. Most car accident lawyers, including those at Harmon Parker, P.A., accept cases on a "contingency fee basis." This means that the law firm will cover all upfront costs of your case will not charge you anything until they recover money on your behalf.

Recommended Reading

Client Testimonials

The Opinions that Matter Most
  • “After two weeks in trial, the jury returned a $1,000,000.00 verdict in my mother’s favor.”

    - Jim C.
  • “They filed suit, hired experts, took depositions and before trial were able to reach a 7-figure settlement!”

    - Frank R.
  • “If I needed anything I could call or email and they would immediately answer my questions.”

    - Heidi F.
  • “Tom Harmon and Steve Parker really cared about my personal situation and wanted the best for me.”

    - K.H.
/
  • Automobile Accident, Brain Injury, Manatee $6.5 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Hillsborough $1.7 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Near Amputation, Hillsborough $1.9 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Recommended Neck Surgery $1.1 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Spinal Injury, Sarasota $8 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Wrongful Death of 89 year old, Hillsborough $2.8 Million
  • Automobile Accident, Wrongful Death, Hillsborough $5.4 Million
  • Bicycle collision $13.6 Million
  • Boating Accident Resulting in Traumatic Brain Injury $6.2 Million
  • Motorcycle Accident, Wrongful Death, Sarasota $1.3 Million
/

Why Hire Our Firm?

What We Offer Our Clients
  • Accessible & Available to Clients

    We take a hands-on approach & commit to being available to our clients, including after hours & weekends.

  • A Proven Track Record of Success

    As advocates for the injured, we have accrued a long list of successful verdicts and settlements.

  • Military Veterans on Our Team

    Our team includes two military veterans - Mr. Harmon & Mr. Parker are veterans of the Army & Navy, respectively.

  • Valuable Resources On Your Side

    We utilize investigators, medical specialists & accident reconstructionists & have resources to handle big cases.

  • A Concierge-Level of Service

    We hold ourselves to high standards of communication and are committed to keep you updated on your case.

  • Results-Driven Approach

    We are not afraid to do whatever is necessary to win your case, including going to trial.